Halloween Countdown #5: As the Clock Turns

Sometimes I honestly wonder what it would be like for me to have grown up in the 1980s. I don’t say that for any particular affection for the decade, mind you; I’m a 90’s kid, and I’m perfectly happy with that. But there are times when I, a twenty six year old still living with his parents and looking for a full time job (I’ve only been able to get part time from my current place of employment), wonders what it would be like to have lived through that neon-drenched decade and be experiencing 2016 in my early to mid thirties.

I mean, just as a short list of things that have been experienced by Generation X:

  • The Star Wars franchise has been brought back to theaters twice
  • Ronald Reagan become practically deified by the GOP
  • Transformers has gone through multiple permutations and is now a blockbuster film franchise (not a good franchise, but still)
  • Donald Trump has gone from”rich guy who puts his name on everything” to “hate-spewing maniac who’s running for President”

I’m sure I’ve missed a lot, but those are some unique to see in your lifetime. It simply makes me wonder what living through all of that would be like.

Which is all a long way of saying “I wonder what a GenX guy or gal thinks when he or she sees a Freddy Krueger children’s costume online”.

 

kidfreddie

“Welcome to K5, bitch!”

Look, I only know of the “slasher movies glorify violence” scuttlebutt through second hand accounts and some Siskel & Ebert clips, and the major franchises (Halloween, Friday the 13th, Nightmare on Elm Street, ect.) were already slowly heading towards “nostalgia” properties well before I ever got into horror movies. If I have any GenX readers out there, please, go to the comments and tell me what you think of seeing something like the above picture.

 

Leave a Reply

