Halloween Countdown #31: The End

And so, we finally come to the end of our first ever month-long Halloween Countdown. I’ve resorted filler throughout, started a new series that I’ve already skipped my unwritten mandate of posting once a week, and stretched my own personal definition of what constitutes  as “fitting” for a Halloween-themed countdown. As I have nothing else for you people, I’m going to give you my thoughts on Halloween as a holiday.

Alright, confession time: Halloween is not really my favorite holiday. I like it quite a bit, as any holiday where I can dress as a superhero or Mario is alright in my book. But as for something I look forward to every year. It comes, it’s fun while it here, and then leaves until next year, like that cousin you only ever see at Christmas or major family functions.

So why did I do this countdown? Two reasons:

  1. It’s another step in my quest to completely rip-off Armagideon Time
  2. I wanted to see if I could do it.

I haven’t post regularly for a month since 2012 on my old blog, and given that the Obsessive Geek Blog already was getting into the stop-start groove I had back when I was on Blogger, I decided to do something in order to keep myself focused on at least one thing in my life. I can get easily distracted or obsessed with one thing (hence a third of this blog’s title), so I figured I could get into the spooky spirit of the season and keep myself on a loose schedule.

And I have to say, if I’m being honest, I don’t actually think I did my best. This was all pretty obviously a catch-as-catch can thing for me, and I resorted to needless filler way more times than I seriously ever wanted to.

But it wasn’t all bad and simple posting of pictures. I did start-up a new series (which I will have a new entry for this week, I promise) and even went on to be a bit more honest about my process, such as it is.

But through it all, I wanted to keep you guys, the people following this thing on WordPress or Twitter or whatever, at least slightly entertained by my rambling jerrimiads and cheap jokes. And If I did that, well, at least I did something right with this thing.

So that about covers it for the Obsessive Geek Blog’s first Halloween countdown. I’ve got to work tonight and I’ll probably have something up tomorrow for…whatever the hell I can think of, I guess. Thank you all for following and Happy Halloween.

 

 

Leave a Reply

